Coach of the Year

“Each year, the WDCA shall bestow upon a worthy recipient, a Coach of the Year Award on an annual basis.” – WDCA Standing Rules 420.10

The coach must be a member in good standing of the WDCA, must exhibit a strong commitment to the educational value of debate; must exhibit a strong commitment to students of all levels and backgrounds; must exhibit a strong commitment to the WDCA organization and the ideals that it serves to promote; must demonstrate a willingness to lend assistance to other debaters, coaches, and tournament hosts and directors; his/her team demonstrates success in WDCA sanctioned tournaments; and her/his teams distinguishes themselves in debate, attitude, and conduct.

Coaches are not eligible to win the award more than once in a five-year period.

You can nominate a Coach for the 2017-18 Coach of the Year Award using this online form.

Previous winners are:

1998 – Thomas Noonan, Nicolet
1999 – Jim Sauer, LaCrosse Central
2000 – Jan Lennon, Brookfield Central
2001 – Steve Sexton, West Bend East
2002 – Sharon Sharko, Greendale
2003 – Steve Gargo, Appleton West
2004 – Eric Van Ert, South Milwaukee
2005 – Nathan Hanson, Merrill
2006 – Jason Chapman, Nicolet
2007 – Ernest Chomicki, Bradley Tech
2008 – Tim Scheffler, James Madison Memorial
2009 – Bill Batterman, Marquette
2010-11 – Doris Sexton, West Bend East
2011-12 – Nick Bubb, Middleton
2012-13 – Dave Henning, Sheboygan South
2013-14 – Steve Sexton, Brookfield East
2014-15 – Stephanie King, Rufus King
2015-16 – Mike Traas, Appleton East